CQUniversity Australia

Engaging Indigenous people within Higher Ed

CQUniversity's Office of Indigenous Engagement recently hosted a visit from the Oodgeroo Unit of Queensland University of Technology (QUT), at Rockhampton Campus.

Professor Anita Lee Hong, Director of the Oodgeroo Unit, and Lone Pearce, Project Officer, met with Office of Indigenous Engagement staff to discuss employment issues and best practice models for engaging Indigenous people within the higher education sector, including governance matters.

Full Details…

Life-long learning for retired workers 

CQUniversity's Information Technology Division (ITD) was delighted to donate 10 computers to the Rockhampton branch of the National Union of Retired Workers, on behalf of the University recently.

ITD's Client Support Manager Owen Osborne and Senior Technology Support Officer Josh Batts were on hand to present NURW President Marion Lawler and several of the branch members with the computers at the NURW headquarters in Rockhampton.


"We are extremely grateful to Professor Bowman and the University for their kind donation which will go a long way to assisting the NURW provide computer lessons for seniors," says Marion. "Keeping up with modern technology and ensuring our minds are kept active are things we are very mindful of. Having CQUniversity assist the NURW with that is just wonderful."

The seniors were also discovering the wonders of computer technology with features such as Skype for chatting with family and friends across the country and the internet for banking and research purposes.

CQUniversity Council Member Tim Griffin OAM was also present to assist the University with the computer donation.

"Community engagement is a driving force for CQUniversity and anything the University can do to assist our community in ‘life-long learning' is a pleasure" says Mr Griffin.


The University has also been able to assist other organisations by donating surplus computers. In the past few years, more than 300 computers have been donated to schools within the Rockhampton region including Crescent Lagoon State School, Waraburra State School, Mt Archer State School and Yeppoon State School.